27 Comments

I’ve watched Palace Confidential over the last 3 months and enjoy the program a lot for the most part. There is one caveat— the hair style & wardrobe choices of Jo Elvin immensely distract from her talent. The Nov 16th ensemble was much too distracting— especially the boots. Overall it’s a great program and I’ll continue to watch. I love her guests.

Expand full comment

Love to laugh for “real” as opposed to laugh trying to fend off other thoughts and or emotions.

Expand full comment
Apr 24, 2022Liked by Jo Elvin

Hello, Jo! I really enjoy you on Palace Confidential and your banter with all of the correspondents. How did you get that gig? And if you were a member of the Royal family (a life turn I sense you would not prefer!), which cause would you want to be the patron for?

Expand full comment

Hi Jo, What is guaranteed to make you ‘belly laugh’? For me it’s Laurel & Hardy😀 LOVE your newsletters, they are inspiring me to grab opportunities and run with them

Expand full comment

Do you have any celebrity feuds? Spill the tea.

What's your favourite place to eat in London and why?

Tell me about the best press trip you've ever been on?

Whose your favourite Peloton Instructor?

Expand full comment

Thanks for doing this Jo! Really loved your latest newsletter about saying yes to opportunities when doubt creeps in. Do you have any tips for when you’re lacking motivation? I do genuinely love my job and feel lucky and grateful to do it - I work as a editor of books for primary school children. But for some reason right now (and I’m getting over Covid, so maybe that’s a factor) I have a severe ‘meh’ feeling sitting at my desk. Not helpful when I have deadlines to meet! Xx

Expand full comment

I’m loving your newsletters so much! I love the honesty, and love every time a new one is posted. How do you feel about leaving the “media” and heading into the charity sector? It’s something I’ve half done/want to but for years my identity has been made up of me being a “journalist”, which can be a strange one to shake off!

Expand full comment

Professionally, has there ever been a trend/idea/movement that you wish you’d come up with or got on board with first? Similarly a book or piece of written work that you’d wish you had written yourself? As it is Earth day, favourite place on earth?

Expand full comment

Hi Jo, you might not be able to answer this for various reasons but what were your thoughts on the direction Glamour took after you left? I was a long standing subscriber but after it went quarterly I found the tone of it changed dramatically. It felt like it became far more of a 'fashion' magazine, with articles on plastic surgery (and why you should have it) etc rather than celebrating individuals for who they are. Did you notice this or did you avoid reading the Mag after you left (as I do...!)

Expand full comment